top of page

Worship The Position...The Posture...The Point...The Purpose...

Updated: Jul 10, 2019

In 2002, I was in my sophomore year at Temple University. It was one of the most confusing times of my life.I absolutely hated school. I knew I wanted to sing and pursue music as a career, but became discouraged when I didn’t get the support I was looking for; I begin to doubt myself.  I was searching in healthy and unhealthy places. In my search, I was introduced to the book Purpose Driven Life by Rick Warren.

I went to the bookstore, purchased the book, got a reading partner and  put a daily reading appointment in my agenda. I was on time for said reading appointment, with my cover and hot tea in tow. But after I began reading I realized that my expectations where...we’ll just say, clearly Rick Warren and I did not have a talk before this book was published, marketed and distributed to the world. I was completely wrong on how Rick Warren would teach me to find my purpose.

My  question was...why am I here! Without giving away all the details of the The Purpose Driven Life, I encourage you to read it with an open head and heart. This book taught, through scripture, that my our whole purpose on earth is not to just be happy, wealthy, married, rich, or successful in a career. Our purpose is solely to WORSHIP GOD!

We were created to worship God. All that we are and want to be should be pointed towards Him. But what does that mean and what does it look like? Briefly described...When we give our full attention to something or someone they can become our focus of worship.

The position of worship is directed towards God. It takes the focus away from ourselves and as we look at the Father and begin to see through His eyes.

The posture of worship is humble. Weather you are standing or sitting, kneeling or prostrate the position of your heart is what is most important and it must be humble.

The point and the position go hand and hand. Worship brings about a refocus.

The point of worship is to give God what is due to Him, to show appreciation and to be in right position.  

The purpose of Worship is to fulfill our purpose glorifying God.

We begin by surrendering. Surrender says LORD you are LORD and I submit to you. It consist of allowing you to die to the flesh; that He may live in you. In the Old Testament Scriptures the sins were atoned through sacrifice and worship was given through sacrifice. This sacrifice or offering was gory and brutal but it brought God pleasure to see the work put in to prepare the sacrifice and it is a sweet aroma to Him. Though  we are not cutting animals because JESUS is the ultimate sacrifice and His blood has paid the price for our sins; the process and purpose of a burnt offering is still prevalent and needed in the believer drawing close to God.

Call to Action : Live Life with a heart, posture and position of Worship;Living, with God in mind and giving Him glory in how you live.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page